Thanks

Date: 2 September 2011 09:31:42 GMT+01:00

To: steve@apple.com

From: Lisa Tweedie

Subject: Thanks

Dear Mr Jobs
I’ve never written to someone changing job before but when I heard of your resignation as CEO of Apple I felt very moved.

I wanted to thank you personally for adding inspiration upon inspiration to my life since I was an 18 year old in the late 80’s…

Each generation of apple products has never ceased to amaze… on mac+ I learnt to master engineering drawing (I have a very unsteady hand and pen and ink was a disaster for me). On the SE I finally understood something about statistics via graphing programs, ran my first Human Computer Interaction (HCI) experiment on Hypercard and typeset newspapers (moving away from glueing our columns onto pasteboard). On later generations of macintosh built on those early machines I learnt to explain concepts via animation. I learnt about digital photo editing (saving me days and days smelling of chemicals!). I wrote my PhD thesis on Human Computer Interaction (Visualisation). These products held my hand the whole way. They have been very good friends.

And now on the Ipad I am honing my illustrating skills with finger painting (a truly tactile and in the moment artistic experience) and am designing educational apps that I hope will help people learn to read all over the world. I am fascinated watching my three kids using the ipad… where will they go with it? They are already talking about releasing their own first ipad app (aged 11,8 and 6).For me each generation of products has created tools that empower and enrich my life and take me to new places. The ipad (and its clones… surely the highest form of flattery) is introducing technology to many people who found the desktop daunting from the elderly to the very young and many in between. It will be a lasting legacy.

I make my living as a User Experience (UX) consultant and I have always felt that I am here because of the beautiful Apple products that have influenced my life over and over again. So my sincere thanks to you.

Good luck in the next stage of your journey whatever that is.
Take care
Lisa
Lisa Tweedie PhD
UK

Drawn with my finger on the Ipad (Copyright Lisa Tweedie September 2011)

9 responses to “Thanks”

  1. ltweedie says :

    I sent this in September… understandably didn’t get a reply… but lots of others did. Glad I did it.

  2. Stuart FL Fishing Charter Boats says :

    At this time I am going away to do my breakfast, after having my
    breakfast coming over again to read more news.

  3. Charter Boat Fishing Pompano Beach says :

    Quality articles is the crucial to attract the people to go to see the website, that’s what this site is providing.

  4. swimming Pool Pump Repair Fort Lauderdale says :

    Nice replies in return of this query with solid arguents and telling everything oon the
    topic of that.

  5. business coaching by Meir Ezra says :

    Would you offer an guarantee or warranty of the professional services.

    If you are considering a function out of your home chance that
    may be right for you, then Energy Influx Marketing and advertising Inc’s primary
    email program may be for you personally. Within this document I am going to check out the main topic of mentoring in the place of work.

  6. Meir Ezra genius says :

    My partner and I stumbled over here from a different website and
    thought I may as well check things out. I like what I see so now i’m following you.
    Look forward to exploring your web page yet again.

  7. Alan Trider Profile says :

    Leasing principles have not went up the moment the sale costs, because
    individuals opt to acquire rather than lease contract houses,
    by utilizing easy loans. There a wide range of online business offerings in Kenya but real estate purchase out competes
    them all. With the need for enviromentally friendly conservation and sustainability, purchasers are now thinking
    of elements such as drinking water efficiency, alternative types of strength and various other
    building models that they may since the builders have employed.

  8. Tree Stump Grinding Fort Lauderdale says :

    Its not my first time to go to see this web page, i am browsing this web site dailly and get fastidious data from
    here all the time.

  9. Ocean Summit Condos For Sale says :

    Fastidious answers in return of this issue with real arguments and telling the whole thing concerning that.

Leave a Reply

